RoadmapShopEvents
Skip to main content

幻影依赖

Rush 的文章中时不时提及“幻影”和“复制体”,你是否想更多了解 JavaScript 的包管理器是如何工作的?

一些历史和理论

大家都知道软件可以依赖其他的,其生成的依赖图是一种有向无环图。不同于树状结构,有向无环图可以用菱形分支链接。例如,库 A 可能导入 BC, 之后 BCD 引入, 这四个库中创建了一个菱形依赖。通常,编程语言的模块解析会沿着图的边向上查找,并且(在其他系统中)包本身被放在一个中央的存储库中,可以被多个项目共享。

由于历史原因,NodeJS 和 NPM 使用了一个不同的方法来在磁盘上组织图的物理形式,NPM 使用库的副本来表示图的顶点,以及图的边被子目录所替代。但是树状的文件夹不能组成菱形,为了解决该问题,NodeJS 增加了一个特殊的解析规则,起作用是引入额外的边(指向所有父亲目录的直接子文件夹)。从计算机科学的视角来看,这套规则以两种方式轻松地改变了文件系统的树状结构:(1) 它可以表示一些(但不是所有)有向无环图;(2) 我们捕获了一些额外的边,它们不属于任何声明的包依赖。这些额外的边便是“幻影依赖”。

NPM 中用到的方法与传统的包管理方式有很多不同点:

  • 每一个(根级)目录的 node_module 树来存储大量的库文件夹副本,甚至一个很小的 NodeJS 项目的文件夹下可能有超过 10,000 个文件。

  • 在 NPM 2.x 版本中,node_modules 文件树非常深,而且存在很多重复,这可以消除换依赖。NPM 3.x 的安装算法改成了将树扁平化,这消除了大量重复想,但代价是引入了幻影依赖(图上额外的边),在某些情况下这个新算法会选择一个更久的版本的包(虽然依旧符合语义化规范)来消除包文件夹的重复。

  • 安装后的 node_modules 树并不唯一,有很多种可能来重新组织文件夹来使得其接近菱形,并没有独一无二的“标准化”排列。安装后的树依赖于你的包管理器使用了哪种算法,NPM 自身的算法甚至对你添加的包的次序有关。

node_modules 树是一个奇特的数据结构,让我们关注三个可能造成麻烦的问题,这些问题可能会导致在大型项目和 monorepo 中导致问题,我们也会展示 Rush 如何改善这些 —— 解决这些问题是 Rush 创立的动机之一。

幻影依赖

NPM phantom dependency

当项目中使用了一个没有在 package.json 文件中定义的包时,幻影依赖便出现了。示例如下:

my-library/package.json

{
"name": "my-library",
"version": "1.0.0",
"main": "lib/index.js",
"dependencies": {
"minimatch": "^3.0.4"
},
"devDependencies": {
"rimraf": "^2.6.2"
}
}

代码可能会长成下面的样子:

my-library/lib/index.js

var minimatch = require('minimatch');
var expand = require('brace-expansion'); // ???
var glob = require('glob'); // ???

// (使用这些库的代码)

等一下 —— 这有两个库 brace-expansionglob 两个库并没在 package.json 文件中声明为依赖。那它们是如何运行的呢?结论是 brace-expansionminimatch 的依赖,globrimraf 的依赖。安装时,NPM 会将 my-library/node_modules 下的文件夹铺平,由于 NodeJS 的 require() 函数不需要考虑 package.json 文件,所以它找到这些库。这也许有一些违反直觉,但是这看起来没有问题,也许这不是个 bug?

不幸的是,项目中缺少声明的依赖最好被视作一个 bug, 它可能导致一些不符合预期错误:

  • 不兼容的版本:尽管我们库的 package.json 明确需要 minimatch 的版本为 3, 我们并没有声明 brace-expansion 的版本,语义化系统 会使得当 minimatch 的 API 没发生变动时,minimatch 的 PATCH 版本完美的兼容了 brace-expansion 的 MAJOR 版本。在实际开发 my-library 时,可能永远不会遇到这种情况,相反,当随后有人以相较于我们平日测试时更新(更旧)的版本约束方式来约束 node_modules 排列方式来安装了我们发布的库,这个人就会变成一个受害者。

  • 缺少依赖:glob 来自于 devDependencies 中,这意味着只有开发 my-library 的开发者才会安装这些库。对于其他人,require("glob") 将会因 glob 未安装而立即抛错。只要我们发布了 my-library, 就会立即听到这个反馈,对吧?并不是,实际情况中,由于某些原因(例如自身使用了 rimraf),绝大部分用户都有 glob 这个库,所以看起来可以运行。只有一小部分用户会遇到导入失败的问题,这使得它看起来像是一个难以重现的问题。

Rush 如何解决问题的: Rush 的符号链接策略能确保每个项目下的 node_modules 可仅仅包含它直接的依赖。这会在构建阶段捕获到幻影依赖的问题。如果你使用 PNPM, 相同保护措施也会应用到所有间接依赖上(可以通过 pnpmfile.js 来解决任何“不良”的包)。

幻影 node_modules 文件夹

假定我们有一个 monorepo, 有人在根目录下的 package.json 文件增加了以下内容:

my-monorepo/package.json:

{
"name": "my-monorepo",
"version": "0.0.0",
"scripts": {
"deploy-app": "node ./deploy-app.js"
},
"devDependencies": {
"semver": "~5.6.0"
}
}

这会允许人们执行 npm run deploy-app, 该脚本会被自动部署 monorepo 中的所有项目(不要再 Rush 中使用这种方式,请使用自定义指令)。注意,这个幻想的脚本需要使用 semver 这个库,所以它被添加到 devDependencies 列表中,在项目根目录中,开发者可以在执行 npm run deploy-app 之前执行 npm install.

安装目录的结构如下:

- my-monorepo/
- package.json
- node_modules/
- semver/
- ...
- my-library/
- package.json
- lib/
- index.js
- node_modules/
- brace-expansion
- minimatch
- ...

NodeJS 的模块解析器会在父目录下寻找依赖,这意味着 my-library/lib/index.js 可以执行 require("semver") 并寻找到 semver 包,甚至它不会出现在 my-library/node_modules 下。这是一种更隐蔽的方式来捕获幻影依赖 —— 它甚至可以找到不在你的 Git 工作目录下的 node_modules 文件夹。

Rush 如何解决问题的: rush install 指令可以扫描所有潜在的父目录并在发现 node_modules 中存在幻影依赖时发出警告。

Improve this page

Phantom dependencies

Rush’s documentation occasionally mentions “phantoms” and “doppelgangers”. Want to learn more about how JavaScript package managers work?

Some history and some theory

Everyone knows that software packages can depend on other packages, and the resulting dependency graph is a kind of directed acyclic graph in computer science. Unlike a tree data structure, a directed acyclic graph can have diamond-shaped branches that rejoin. For example, library A might import definitions from libraries B and C, but then B and C can both import from D, which creates a “diamond dependency” between these four packages. Conventionally the programming language’s module resolver looks up imported packages by traversing edges of this graph, and (in other systems) the packages themselves are found in a central store that can be shared by many projects.

For historical reasons, NodeJS and NPM took a different approach by representing this graph physically on disk: NPM models the graph vertexes using actual package folder copies, and the graph edges are implied by the subfolder relationships. But a folder tree’s branches cannot rejoin to make diamonds. To handle this, NodeJS added a special resolution rule whose effect is to introduce extra graph edges (pointing to the immediate children of all parent folders). From a computer science perspective, this rule relaxes the file system’s tree data structure in two ways: (1) it can now represent some (but not all) directed acyclic graphs, and (2) we pick up some extra edges that do not correspond to any declared package dependency. These extra edges are called “phantom dependencies”.

NPM’s approach has many unique characteristics that differ from traditional package managers:

  • Each (root-level) project gets its own node_modules tree containing lots of package folder copies. Even a very small NodeJS project is likely to have more than 10,000 files copied under its folder.

  • In NPM 2.x, the node_modules folder tree was very deep and duplicated, which minimized phantom dependencies. NPM 3.x improved the installation algorithm to flatten the tree, which eliminated a lot of duplication, at the expense of introducing even more phantom dependencies (extra graph edges). In some cases the new algorithm will also choose a slightly older version of a package (while still satisfying SemVer) to further reduce duplication of package folders.

  • The installed node_modules tree is not unique. There are many possible ways to arrange package folders into a tree to approximate the directed acyclic graph, and there is no unique “normalized” arrangement. The tree you get depends on whatever heuristics your package manager chose to follow. NPM’s own heuristics are even sensitive to the order in which you add packages.

The node_modules tree is an unusual and theoretically interesting data structure. But let’s focus on three consequences that can cause real trouble, and which can be particularly difficult to diagnose in a large and very active monorepo. We’ll also show how Rush improves things – mitigating these problems was one of the original motivations for creating the Rush tool!

Phantom dependencies

NPM phantom dependency

A “phantom dependency” occurs when a project uses a package that is not defined in its package.json file. Consider this example:

my-library/package.json

{
  "name": "my-library",
  "version": "1.0.0",
  "main": "lib/index.js",
  "dependencies": {
    "minimatch": "^3.0.4"
  },
  "devDependencies": {
    "rimraf": "^2.6.2"
  }
}

But suppose that the code looks like this:

my-library/lib/index.js

var minimatch = require("minimatch")
var expand = require("brace-expansion");  // ???
var glob = require("glob")  // ???

// (more code here that uses those libraries)

Wait a sec – two of these libraries are not declared as dependencies in the package.json file. How is this working at all!? It turns out that brace-expansion is a dependency of minimatch, and glob is a dependency of rimraf. During installation, NPM has flattened their folders to be under my-library/node_modules. The NodeJS require() function finds them there because it probes for folders without considering the package.json files at all. This is perhaps counterintuitive, but it seems to work just fine. Maybe it’s a feature and not a bug?

Unfortunately this project’s missing declarations are best considered a bug. It can lead to unexpected malfunctions or errors:

  • Incompatible versions: Although our library’s package.json declared that it needs minimatch version 3, we don’t have any say about the version of brace-expansion that we’ll get. The SemVer system makes it perfectly legal for a PATCH release of minimatch to incorporate a MAJOR upgrade of the brace-expansion library, as long as it doesn’t affect the API signature for minimatch. In practice we’ll probably never encounter this as developers of my-library – instead, it will be found by a poor victim who installs our published library later in some very different node_modules arrangement that has newer (or older) version constraints than what we regularly test.

  • Missing dependencies: The glob package is coming from our devDependencies, which means it only gets installed for developers who work on the my-library project. For other consumers, require("glob") should fail immediately with an error because glob won’t get installed at all for them. We should hear about it as soon as we publish the my-library package, right? Not exactly. In practice it’s likely that most consumers will also have glob for some reason (e.g. using rimraf themselves), so it may appear to work. Only a small percentage of our consumers will encounter the failed import error, making it seem like they’re reporting a weird issue that’s difficult to repro.

How Rush helps: Rush’s symlinking strategy ensures that each project’s node_modules contains only its declared direct dependencies. This catches phantom dependencies immediately at build time. If you’re using the PNPM package manager, the same protections are also applied to all indirect dependencies (with the ability to workaround any “bad” packages by using pnpmfile.js).

Phantom node_modules folders

Suppose we have a monorepo, and someone adds a root-level package.json file like this:

my-monorepo/package.json:

{
  "name": "my-monorepo",
  "version": "0.0.0",
  "scripts": {
    "deploy-app": "node ./deploy-app.js"
  },
  "devDependencies": {
    "semver": "~5.6.0"
  }
}

This allows people to run npm run deploy-app, and our script will automatically deploy all the projects in the monorepo. (Don’t do this if you’re using Rush! Instead define a custom command.) Notice that this hypothetical script needs to use the semver library, so it was added to the devDependencies list. People are asked to run npm install in the repo root folder before npm run deploy-app.

The resulting installed folders will look something like this:

- my-monorepo/
  - package.json
  - node_modules/
    - semver/
    - ...
  - my-library/
    - package.json
    - lib/
      - index.js
    - node_modules/
      - brace-expansion
      - minimatch
      - ...

But recall that NodeJS’s module resolver probes for dependencies in parent folders. This means that our my-library/lib/index.js can call require("semver") and find the semver package, even if it doesn’t appear anywhere under my-library/node_modules. This is an even more insidious way to pick up accidental phantom dependencies – it can sometimes find node_modules folders that aren’t even under your Git working directory!

How Rush helps: Rush’s got you covered. The rush install command scans all potential parent folders and issues a warning if any phantom node_modules folders are found.

Next up: NPM doppelgangers